Home

A recent trip visiting my family where I grew up got me thinking, as I many things often make me do. IT all kind of culminated around the concept of home, like what is home. As a boy home was with my family. Home was never really a place because we moved so much. So at that point home was listing to my fathers ten million stories; home was hanging out with my brothers; home was going on adventures with my mother.

2fzUiH6

Even after growing up and leaving the nest joining the marines home was still with my family I just had a much larger family at that point. The barracks wasn’t home but my brothers were. It was that reason that my home became my prison for a long time, because war became my home.

mbBa4re

I think that is why it was hard for me to every really come home, because I didn’t know where my boys were; I didn’t know if my brothers were safe.

It wasn’t until years after I got out that I realized that home is a state of mind. The phrase home is where you make it finally made sense (Kind of a really long route to understand one concept I know right).

 

 

Just like now home looks like my church family; home looks like the back of an ambulance; home looks like the station. The thing that helps me feel most at home however is spending a moment with Jesus. Either getting into the holy word or just spending some quiet time alone with him praying or resting in his presence, because even though the ambulance feels like home; even though the fire house feels like home; even though my brothers feel like home; This place is not my home.

 

John 14:1-6

14 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many mansions;[a] if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.[b] And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. And where I go you know, and the way you know.”

Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?”

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Leave a Reply

