Carefree or Careless?

I would just Like to first start this blog post by apologizing for not passing this message sooner as I had received it a couple of weeks ago, but I kept putting it off because I was real busy and to be honest I was buying into a lie that the things I write fall on deaf ears or that no one reads it,

maurry

So I am truly sorry for buying into this, having said that, Glory to GOD because I am back and ready to give the word so hold on to your seat because this is going to be cool.

To begin let us look at

Matthew 6:26-34

26 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

28 “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; 29 and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Here Jesus is telling us to not worry about the things of the flesh, but to seek first his kingdom in all things, let me break that down real quick. In my younger days I thought this scripture was telling me to literally search for the kingdom of heaven as in looking for an actual structure(Yeah im kind of thick sometimes you dont have to rub it in). Lets look at the definition of the word kingdom here

Full Definition of kingdom

  1. 1archaic:kingship

  2. 2:  a politically organized community or major territorial unit having a monarchical form of government headed by a king or queen

  3. 3often capitalizeda:  the eternal kingship of God:  the realm in which God’s will is fulfilled

  4. 4a:  a realm or region in which something is dominantb:  an area or sphere in which one holds a preeminent position

  5. 5a:  one of the three primary divisions into which natural objects are commonly classified — compare animal kingdom, mineral kingdom, plant kingdomb:  a major category (as Plantae or Protista) in biological taxonomy that ranks above the phylum and below the domain

 

This is from the webster dictionary, in number three it states the realm in which gods will if fulfilled. So he is saying seek his will first in all situations and we may live carefree.

There is however a difference between being care free and not having expectations or plans, for his word also states.

Psalm 119:105

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.

Proverbs 16:9

A man’s heart plans his way,
But the Lord directs his steps.

so we are still to make plans but if they are not of god then he will show us the right way to go if we are watching.

we are to have plans as well as desires in life.

 

Psalm 37:4

Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

that’s not saying if you desire a Ferrari GOD will give you one (I mean he might in a way by showing you how to manage your finances and give you a good work ethic)

What it is saying if we desire something and it is of GOD he will definitely make sure it comes to pass, on his perfect timing, so you may have to wait. Or maybe he is just waiting on you to commit that desire to him, even though he put it in your heart to begin with, as seen again in

Proverbs 16:4-7

Commit your works to the Lord,
And your thoughts will be established.

The Lord has made all for Himself,
Yes, even the wicked for the day of doom.

Everyone proud in heart is an abomination to the Lord;
Though they join forces,[a] none will go unpunished.

In mercy and truth
Atonement is provided for iniquity;
And by the fear of the Lord one departs from evil.

When a man’s ways please the Lord,
He makes even his enemies to be at peace with him.

So we then commit our works to the one who gave us the idea and drive in the first place because he made all for himself, and through him we will depart from evil and by doing so even our enemies will have peace with us(sounds like a win win win to me)

So through these means we may be without worry truly carefree. However, for me, the line from carefree to careless is blurred from time to time, due to my need for excitement. I have mentioned that I was in the Marine Corps in my past and as a result of this I develouped the need for adranaline, and although my PTSD has been healed, my hunger for battle, for the adrenaline is never sated. It causes me to take unnecessary risks from time to time just to feel that way again(I dont ever do anything that will harm anyone else, and remain clean and sober) However I do go really fast in my car, climb things go exploring, I try to keep it as healthy as possible, but there have been some times where I know that it is only by HIS grace that I still draw breath,  even still  GOD is using this aspect of my life and is working as seen in

Romans 8:28

28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

A perfect example of this , I really want to become a firefighter like with all my being, as well as get involved in ministry and was waiting to go to school to start that process for that for what seemed like a century. What I didn’t know was there was a great many things that I needed to learn along the way and at the very moment when I thought it was all lost and nothing seemed to be going in my direction I said “Lord if I’m not supposed to be in this line of work then take this desire from me, if  I am however I give it to you because I really cant handle another loss right now” and from that point forward things began tipping in my favor up to the point where I am now, and in recent days when I was feeling overwhelmed GOD spoke to me saying “Joshua remember how badly you wanted this.” and it dawned on me that I had to go through that for a number of reasons, one of which was I appreciate what I have so much more than I would have if I had gotten it when I asked and in the process he has put in my heart a drive to go to the dark place’s to go to the dangerous areas to spread his love(simultaneously filling my hunger for both all things spiritual and adrenaline). So Not only did he make me carefree he also took something that was a potential hazard to me and worked it into a force that may strengthen his kingdom here on earth.

Now all I’m waiting on is this super awesome woman everyone keeps telling me he has in store for me, I joke…

but not really 🙂

So GOD can take a broken man like me and turn everything around to the benefit of his kingdom for his body then he will do the same for you.

My prayer is that You may receive the desires of your heart, even if all you want is a desire in your heat I just pray that these things begin to happen right now as you read these words I pray that we just allow him to give us the eyes to see the light unto our path and  that we just allow him to have his way in our hearts in our minds in our homes in our city, and in that we just let his peace and grace shower over us as we watch him take command of our situations. I proclaim all of these things in Jesus name. AMEN.

I love you guys thanks for reading and be blessed.

Leave a Reply

