The little things

Two scriptures stand out when I reflect on the past few months.

Ephesians 6:12

12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age,[a] against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

and

2 Corinthians 10:3

For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh.

I have been warring for quite some time both in my own individual efforts and in the church I attend we have been battling fiercely to take this new land, to move into this new building, that was once a bar. Many have fallen and been shaken away for one reason or another, which troubled my heart greatly.

200 (9)

 

and even still the ones that have stayed have become wearied by the fight as well, and I have continued to see my brothers and my sisters fall prey to traps even with fair warning, like they had chosen the trap because their vision and judgement were clouded to the point they failed to listen to the voice of truth.

giphy (7).gif

I felt as if I were alone in a field, a shield full of arrows, armor bent and broken, covered in grime and blood surrounded by the fallen, both of enemies and of my comrades. The sound of the remnant of our forces slowly drudging on in the distance. I looked up at the sky and cried out. “Father! I am weary and in need of rest what should I say, what should I do, what should I learn from this!”

download (1)

In that moment he showed me all the battles that we have fought and won. Though individually they seemed little, combined they seemed far greater than my circumstance. He furthered this by stating, “Joshua ultimately those around you are not your responsibility, you have encouraged them to the best of your ability, if they continue to choose death, that is not on your hands.”

and he continued, showing me the small victories and said, “Look at all of these things that have already been accomplished, you have generated great momentum so fast you have wore yourself to the point where you were no longer spending as much time alone with me.”

and in that moment I had realized that I wasn’t getting into the word as much and I had almost quit meditating entirely, not even realizing by doing this I myself was about to fall into a trap.

He said to me “Joshua relish in the small victories let them keep your momentum and continue running your race.”

always remember the little things in life, the little things could be something as small as a man saying he wants to advertise for your cause, or even as great as someone becoming dear to you heart saying she trusts you greatly, its these little things in our day, in our lives that continue to give us the strength to keep fighting, even if  the only victory you have some days is waking up in the morning its still a victory try and respect it. We have to remember we have the ultimate victory for he who first loved us rescued us from sin and death. So if you know someone who is struggling my plea to you is that you go and be one of their little things.

day-5-the-matter-little-things

 

So my prayer for all of us is that we take rest in the small things in this life, and we find our refuge in him when we have the chances and that we stand on the word that no weapon formed against us shall prosper and that we may all stand unified and full of praise during the struggles and during the peace.

 

Matthew 4:10

10 Then Jesus said to him, “Away with you,[a] Satan! For it is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only you shall serve.’”[b]

Matthew 16:23

23 But He turned and said to Peter, “Get behind Me, Satan! You are an offense to Me, for you are not mindful of the things of God, but the things of men.”

Isaiah 54:17

17 No weapon formed against you shall prosper,
And every tongue which rises against you in judgment
You shall condemn.
This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord,
And their righteousness is from Me,”
Says the Lord.

Leave a Reply

