Glory to glory

I write this to bring glory and honor to my father in heaven, who has delivered me.

  As I have explained in previous posts, I was in the United States Marine Corps. Also that I had been on two tours to Afghanistan. There I was exposed to just how ugly this world can be, and as a result of my time there I had developed something known as PTSD (post traumatic stress disorder). To me it was like literally being in a prison in my own mind. I would wake up covered in sweat, screaming into the midnight, at the ghosts in my dreams. Anytime I would hear anything that even remotely sounded like an explosion, or gunfire I would enter something I call warrior mode, where I would be trying to identify where the enemy was, and looking for cover. The switch was flipped on and broken off. I have been told there were times it seemed I was looking through people, that I was never really present, it was because a large part of me was still back in the sand, I hadn’t come home until recently.

The enemy had used my pain to shut out the voice of GOD. I can see now that he was always there, but at the time I didn’t know how to make it stop and just go away so I would drink myself to sleep for days on end sometimes. It wasn’t until this past year, after getting plugged into my church and serving the kingdom, that I had finally come home. It was literally like I could breath for the very first time. I had been delivered from my PTSD, flashbacks still occur occasionally, but I handle it and rebuke it in Jesus name and continue my business unshaken

I write this because we draw near to our Independence Day, and as a nation for weeks and weeks we light off fireworks, a time when I used to hunker down in a basement somewhere, at the bottom of a bottle, running from my past. A time that I once lived in constant resentment and anxiety of experiencing, I now sit hearing the crack of fireworks and not bullets, smelling the black powder of extravagant colored explosions and not gun smoke as the spent casing exits the ejection port. Again through deliverance by my lord and savoir, yeshua hamashia, Jesus Christ, I am able to soberly live and enjoy this holiday. Glory be to GOD!

Matthew 11:28-30

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. 29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For My yoke iseasy and My burden is light.”

2 Corinthians 3:18

18 But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.

Psalm 34:17

17 The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears,
And delivers them out of all their troubles.

Leave a Reply

