Complacency

The world around us makes it so easy to grow complacent, not only easy, but also harder to unplug. I would go so far as to say complacency is encouraged and rewarded. The people who don’t stick with the newest technological advancements are left behind the power curve, left in the dust.

960

Like even in my job things are constantly changing, and I currently work in construction, getting into it I didn’t know you needed to know about Microsoft office, I thought I would just be swinging a sledge hammer. Unfortunately that’s not always the case, if you want to advance you need to know about those things.

that’s just the employment aspect of where technology is, the leisure aspect is far worse, just from my perspective. As I conduct my life out and about, shopping, going to the gym, or wherever I find myself I see people plugged in everywhere shutting off the world around them, and it makes me sad, because GOD showed it to me as people  were choosing to be slaves again.

2bb3750.jpg

I’ve been seeing these virtual reality goggles more frequently too, and this makes me even more sad because creation is such a beautiful, wonderful place, why not experience THAT reality?

maxresdefault.jpg

I take one look at this and I am concerned. These people literally can see nothing that’s happening around them, they are 100% plugged in. I’m not saying its all bad, social media is okay, in moderation. I personally use it to try and be the light in situations and to spread the good news but that’s pretty much the extent of it, because I was going down this same path, for a long time all I wanted to do was be at the house, playing video games, watching TV, unintentionally growing more and more complacent. Until one day GOD took it all away from me, it was like I was able to see for the first time, he spoke to me in that moment “Joshua, I need you to be fully present in every moment or you will miss out on what I have for you.” He continued buy asking “You have so many things you say you want to learn, so many things you say you want to do, and so many places you say you want to go, why hinder yourself? just cut the cord.” and from that moment forward I began to spend less and less time plugged in, and more time trying to glorify he who delivered me from bondage.

I know many people have voiced to me that these advancements are good, and that the change that is happening is good, but from where I stand I see people enslaving themselves, and blinding themselves to the truth, and they are believing that the things happening around us are good things, when they are actually bad things.

which reminds me of a time where I was listening to a pastor preaching about how Holy spirit reviled to him, that when evil comes, it wont look like evil it will look like good.

13269283_10208739928391352_4503473011259250463_n

 

 

So my question to you who are reading this, when the thief comes to steal, will you be awake? When he comes to kill, will you live? and when he comes to destroy will you be able to defend you and your people?

and my prayer is that you remember that you are no longer slaves, that all of that was won for you at Calvary.

you-are-not-a-slave

 

John 10:10

10 The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.

Galatians 4:7

Therefore you are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, then an heir of[a] God through Christ.

Romans 6:1-4

What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? Certainly not! How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it?  Or do you not know that as many of us as were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into His death? Therefore we were buried with Him through baptism into death, that just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

