Footprints

Okay so prelude to what I am about to write, I have just returned from a mission trip to Costa Rica, and with the words I am about to express It will all be from my level of perspective and view. Most importantly however I would like to give GOD all the glory and honor right now for the things you are about to read. Okay now THATS out of the way its time to begin the journey.

 

So they many months leading up to the trip were met with great resistance, each member of the team was going through their individual struggles within their respective arena, which only unified and refined us further as a family. As each day passed the internal struggle grew more and more fierce, it got to the point where we had to leave a woman behind  due to a emergency medical issue, however she assumed a much needed roll as our prayer warrior, and armor bearer, her strength and resolve did not go unnoticed on the trip, (we love you Linda). So as the days were nearing the departure the struggle grew thick and I was becoming weary, I began to cry out “GOD tell me why, what is wrong with me, why do I hurt, why do I keep trying to make fake rainbows, what do you want me to do!” with only the reply “Joshua all will be made clear during and after this trip, don’t get ahead of yourself son, opportunity will rise that I need you to seize.”

So I tried my best to rest in him, and to not grow weary, and in the days leading up to the flight GOD asked “Joshua, what kind of footprint do you want to leave behind?” Everywhere we go we leave a footprint both physically and spiritually. so I replied, “GOD I don’t want to do anything, I want you to leave your footprint through me.” and he honored that prayer, because he defiantly carried me every step of the way.

footprints-male-lester-kern

 

Even as we were leaving the country we were met with resistance, both of our flights were delayed, but every step of the way we were covered, for  where there is confrontation with the enemy the spirit of the living GOD is there in abundance, so we were able to push forward and we finally made it to where we were going,  it was the middle of the night, we were beaten down,  we were bruised, we were weary, and we were exhausted, but then we saw this.

James 1:16-18 came to mind as soon as I saw this.

16 Do not be deceived, my beloved brethren. 17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning. 18 Of His own will He brought us forth by the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of His creatures.

and in that one moment, it was all gone, fresh fire filled my lungs, and rivers of living water flowed through my veins, I was no longer thirsty  and it was abundantly clear that I was connected to the well that never runs dry, however we did need to sleep so we rested that night and hit the ground running as soon as we rose the next morning. It being many of our first mission trip there was the whole well what do they want us to do? process but it took about 15 seconds before that had passed.

I would Love to share with the world all that went on in that place, but I do not have the words to express the true beauty of his majesty, these people’s resilience, the pastor of the church we paired with especially, was truly awe inspiring. They have all helped me grow, they have all given me vision to strive for, but most importantly they put my own perspective in check, for this I am ever grateful and will definitely return every chance I get. The reason why, I feel, is best described by these two photos I took.

 

Though every window was barred and every house caged they painted them bright extravagant colors and made grand designs in some of the barricades, they were saying though we have to keep the darkness from entering our home, we will not be ruled by our circumstance and we will make the very most out of what we have!

 

There resolve, their love, their drive, and their perspective lit within me a fire that I will never let fade away, and will continue to spread in my country, for though we have all the luxuries of life there are many who don’t understand the love of a brother, the comfort of a sister, the feeling of an act of kindness, the soothing of a whispered prayer in their ear, or have become so hardened by our dog eat dog society that they are beginning to lose hope.

This short exert is doesn’t even hold a candle to the entirety of the trip, because signs, wonders, and miracles were abound so these few words, to me, are almost an injustice, but it is a way to try and spread the fire of holy spirit that I am feeling right now. To try and bring revival not only to the ends of the earth but to the homeland as well.

So my prayer is that all who read this may be moved in a way so that they may listen to that still small voice, that compels you to comfort someone, or pray for them, and the boldness to follow through with it in that moment, because life is all about moments, make each on a good one.

James 1:21-24

21 Therefore lay aside all filthiness and overflow of wickedness, and receive with meekness the implanted word, which is able to save your souls.

22 But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves.23 For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; 24 for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was.

Acts 1:8

But you shall receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you; and you shall be witnesses to Me[a]in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

