Taste the rainbow!

Okay, so this is not going to be about skittles, although they are pretty great and I love them, this is about gods promises to us. (and nothing to do with tasting them)

I was at work today filling a bucket with water out of a garden hose, and a rainbow appeared in the mist of the hose water. My first thought was “ahhhh nice a rainbow.” but the more I looked at it the more I realized it wasn’t as satisfying as a real rainbow.

and that’s when holy spirit hit me

And-Then-It-Hit-Me

saying “Joshua its not as satisfying because it’s a fake rainbow, fake rainbow means fake promise.” Which really stirred me up, and got me thinking, I have been in a season of waiting for some time now. Not trying to ever sound ungrateful, for I know when he has us wait it is for protection, and far better things than we could ever imagine are in store.

However, having said that, waiting can be really hard some times

tired_of_waiting11

especially because I live in a culture of “I want it now!” and that’s hard to fight off sometimes. So I’ve tried forcing GOD’s hand to make my own happily ever after (see previous post) and it never works out, sometimes I get just in front of the door before it slams in my face too. which can really hurt.

200

It was a tough pill to swallow, but I eventually prayed in repentance for not being patient

cc_godspromises_zps8766b71d

and for showing me that a real rainbow looks so much more beautiful then a fake rainbow, in the sense that his real promises for me will look so much better then the fake rainbows I tried to create. The things/people I am waiting for, I can definitely wait for, but will not lose one ounce of faith if they never arrive because his will is ultimately what I seek.

god_promises1

The message I am trying to convey here is if you are also in a season of waiting, be it for a spouse, a job, or a whatever just continue pressing in and pushing forward, knowing far greater things then you can ever imagine are in store, I pray that you do not take the route that I have tried to take by trying to force his hand, because that situation will not be blessed, and that you do not try to make your fake rainbow, and just that we all, thank him and praise him for he is the promise keeper. And for us to remember that the most beautiful rainbows come after the fiercest storms

images48

Jeremiah 33:3

‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’

James 1:17

17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.

Ecclesiastes 3:11

11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.

Psalm 27:14

Wait on the Lord;
Be of good courage,
And He shall strengthen your heart;
Wait, I say, on the Lord!

Leave a Reply

