The more than just miles 5k

So today i went to run a 5k for cystic fibrosis and it started off like thissun

so before the 5k began I was already blessed, before a friend asked me to come run this I had no idea what this was, so let me give you the short version, its a respiratory problem that makes it so people can only use a percentage of their lung capacity, there is no cure and it does not go away to my understanding.

so as I was stretching I saw more and more people trickle down to the start line, some with cf some without and I was bearing witness to the love these people shared for one another it was a true blessing just seeing how many people showed up and watching them talk and laugh and just love, but the best was yet to come.

I got to run along side these folks and see their drive, their pure determination to not be held down, their endurance to push through and run their race! It was among the most beautiful things I have ever witnessed, but it wasn’t until I was sitting at the finish line, that I got to see one woman was at a dead sprint and the look on her face was, “You will not take anything from me!” and her shirt read DO WORK that had me in tears. This was the most overcomer mentality group of people I have ever seen.

Their strength made me feel stronger, Their love made me feel loved, and their determination and perspective has changed my life, I will always be eternally grateful to all the people involved with every aspect of this event, but more so to the man and his family who asked me to join them.me

Hebrews 12:1-2

12 Therefore we also, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Leave a Reply

